Encan(s) en cours

Encans en vedette

Peintures récentes

C'est qui ça Pat?

BANG Buy Art Not Guns tshirt

Patrice (Pat) Cantin est né à Jonquière le 27 novembre 1978. Diplômé en photographie et peinture du CÉGEP de Jonquière, il a étudié les arts visuels et médiatiques à l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, puis à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, où il a obtenu son baccalauréat. Il explore l’aspect interdisciplinaire de la peinture et de la performance, ainsi que la peinture et la musique.
Très jeune, Cantin se souvient qu’il dessinait… Partout. «J’ai dessiné: dans mon casier à l’école, mes cahiers, mes agendas, mes planches à roulettes.» Un objet une fois dessiné n’est plus seulement un objet mais sa création. Cantin aurait pu avoir une carrière de graffiteur, mais ses intérêts, nombreux, l’ont emmené ailleurs.

Son processus créatif est né en deux étapes. L’idée de peindre vient d’abord d’une composition et d’une couleur. La composition, en particulier pour ses œuvres abstraites, est souvent la somme des idées accumulées au fil du temps. «Je ne prends pas de notes. Les formes, les ambiances, les couleurs, les contrastes se superposent dans ma tête. Le matériau, en revanche, provient souvent de travaux antérieurs sur la toile. Il peut y avoir plusieurs superpositions au début d’une peinture. Mais c’est le mouvement de la matière qui détermine la suite de l’œuvre, dont le résultat n’est jamais prédéterminé.

« J’aime tout dans la création. J’ai tellement de projets à réaliser, c’est une obligation de me lever le matin : je dois créer. »

Live auction(s)

* Please refresh your browser to see the updated timer. *

Featured auction(s)

Recent paintings

Patatraque

Winning Bid: 1,300.00$

Back out

Starting bid: 800.00$

Sonic’s ring

Starting bid: 1,500.00$

Opportunity

Winning Bid: 900.00$

Study X

Starting bid: 3,200.00$

Colborn

Starting bid: 800.00$

Tritrigli

Starting bid: 2,200.00$

Dosfo

Starting bid: 1,800.00$

To the moon and back

Starting bid: 1,650.00$

Fundraising for the Charles Bruneau’s

foundation


Marco Gagnon, founder of Épurée, challenged painter Pat Cantin. He challenged him to do works with his purees. These works will be sold to raise funds for the Charles-Bruneau Foundation.

Who's that Pat?

BANG Buy Art Not Guns t-shirt

Patrice (Pat) Cantin was born in Jonquière on November 27, 1978. A graduate in photography and painting from the CÉGEP de Jonquière, he studied visual and media arts at the University of Quebec in Chicoutimi, then at the University of Quebec in Montreal, where he earned his bachelor’s degree. He explores the interdisciplinary aspect of painting and performance, as well as painting and music.
At a very young age, Cantin remembers that he drew … Everywhere. “I drew: in my locker at school, my notebooks, my diaries, my skateboards.” An object once drawn is no longer just an object but its creation. Cantin could have had a career as a graffiti artist, but his interests, many, took him elsewhere.

His creative process was born in two stages. The idea of painting comes first from a composition and a color. Composition, especially for his abstract works, is often the sum of ideas accumulated over time. “I don’t take notes. The shapes, the moods, the colors, the contrasts are superimposed in my head. The material, on the other hand, often stems from previous work on the canvas. There may be several overlays at the beginning of a painting. But it is the movement of matter that determines the rest of the work, the result of which is never predetermined.

“I love everything about creation. I have so many projects to carry out, it’s an obligation to get up in the morning: I have to create. »